The Roots Share New Song “It Ain’t Fair” (ft. Bilal)

The Roots have shared a new song entitled “It Ain’t Fair” as a part of the soundtrack to Kathryn Bigelow’s new film, Detroit. The movie centers around the 1967 12th Street riot.

Drummer and all around great guy, Questlove, spoke to Rolling Stone about the new song:

“This song is the slow burning fire inside all of our souls. Watching the movie [Detroit] clearly shows that life in 1967 isn’t that much different in 2017 or 1897 for that matter. We wanted to hit many a bird with one stone: Humanize the pain, confusion and sadness. But also express the overdue anger.”

The full soundtrack for Detroit will release on July 28 via Motown Records, a week ahead of the movie’s release on August 4.

Below fans can find the soundtrack’s tracklist, and new song by The Roots.

Kevin Parker (of Tame Impala) Remixes Mick Jagger’s New Song “Gotta Get a Grip”


01 The Dramatics: “If You Haven’t Got Love”
02 Martha Reeves & The Vandellas: “Jimmy Mack”
03 Jerry Williams: “Baby Bunny (Sugar Honey)”
04 Marvin Gaye / Tammi Tyrell: “Your Precious Love”
05 Brenda Holloway: “Till Johnny Comes”
06 James Newton Howard: “Larry’s Rescue”
07 The Roots: “It Ain’t Fair” [ft. Bilal] 08 The Devotions: “Devil’s Gotten Into My Baby”
09 Lee Rogers: “The Cream of the Crop”
10 The Dramatics: “All Because of You”
11 James Newton Howard: “Larry’s Alone”
12 Algee Smith: “Grow”
13 The Elgins: “Heaven Must Have Sent You”
14 John Coltrane: “I Want to Talk About You”

Leave a Comment