Andrew W.K. Shares “Music Is Worth Living For”

Andrew W.K. is one of our favorites. He is passionate, driven, insightful, and he loves to party. The rocker is set to release his new album, You’re Not Aloneon March 2 via Red Music/Sony. Ahead of that, he has shared the single “Music Is Worth Living For.”

Andrew W.K. released the following about the new song:

“Music Is Worth Living For” is an exaltation of my love for music itself. It’s also me pleading with myself to recognize music’s eternal power and glory, in the face of hardship and pain. The song is an effort to remind myself that life is worth living, if for no other reason than because of the beauty music conveys. Music is a mysterious phenomenon — it seems both to magically overwhelm and sublimate our suffering, but also to starkly dignify the struggles of our daily life. The physical power of music must be coming from some sort of unshakable truth, sent from the primal core of all being. It’s so effortless and elegant in its intensity. I truly believe that listening to music can transform you into a better person. In that way, all my songs have been me just trying to get better, trying to cheer myself up, trying to convince myself that there is hope and joy in the world no matter how dark it may seem. And the lyrics of this song, especially in the verses, are me calling out my own interior negative forces — the lowest and darkest impulses inside me, that wish to hold me down in despair — and I’m telling those malevolent urges once and for all that they won’t break me. I will persevere. And when I triumph, somehow, someday, it will be because of music. This song is a celebration of that essential and divine life-force that music is both emanating from and emitting to us. This song is about how good music makes it feel to not be dead. As the last line of the chorus proclaims, “Music makes me want to stay alive.” That’s probably the truest lyric I’ve ever written.

Below fans can find the tracklist, album artwork (created by Boris Vallejo and Julie Bell), and the new single.

Moon Taxi Debut New Single “Not Too Late”

You’re Not Alone:

01 The Power of Partying
02 Music Is Worth Living For
03 Ever Again
04 I Don’t Know Anything
05 The Feeling of Being Alive
06 Party Mindset
07 The Party Never Dies
08 Give Up on You
09 Keep on Going
10 In Your Darkest Moments
11 The Devil’s on Your Side
12 Break the Curse
13 Total Freedom
14 Beyond Oblivion
15 Confusion and Clarity
16 You’re Not Alone

Leave a Comment