Superchunk Early Premiere Their New Album ‘What a Time to Be Alive’

Superchunk just could not wait to share their new album What A Time To Be Alive. Fans have previously heard the title track and “Erasure.” The latter featured Waxahatchee‘s Katie Crutchfield and Magnetic Fields‘ Stephin Merritt.

On Monday (February 12), the band debuted their first album in four years a full week ahead of schedule via the fine folks over at NPR. Check it out here.

The album will see its formal release on Friday (February 16) via Merge Records. It will be thier 11th studio album.

Mac McCaughan shared the following in a press release:

“It would be strange to be in a band, at least our band, and make a record that completely ignored the surrounding circumstances that we live in and that our kids are going to grow up in.”

The album artwork and tracklisting can be found below.

Billy Strings Announce Spring 2018 North American Tour


01. What a Time to Be Alive
02. Lost My Brain
03. Break the Glass
04. Bad Choices
05. Dead Photographers
06. Erasure
07. I Got Cut
08. Reagan Youth
09. Cloud of Hate
10. All for You
11. Black Thread

Leave a Comment